April 30, 2013

  • A Happy Surprise, A Desk, & A Delicious Dessert

    Today I got up and made “cheater” cinnamon rolls for my family. I just used crescent roll dough and kind of smoothed it together before brushing on melted butter and adding cinnamon sugar. Of course I couldn’t have any, but I got some pretty positive feedback.

    I had quite a bit of paperwork to do today, because I wanted to make sure I had really tied up all the loose ends before our year-end co-op picnic tomorrow, so I can pass back as many papers as possible. It feels so good to have that all done!

    After lunch I was resting and reading in my room when the phone rang. When I answered, a voice on the other end informed me that this was a prank phone call–from Zambia. Right away I knew who it was. My friend Don never just says hello and identifies himself. He was trying out a free internet phone service and we ended up talking for 40 minutes. We have plenty to talk about because we have been friends for 46 years. That made my day!

    Soon after I hung up, my friend Molly showed up with a desk. She and her family are moving out of state, and they had a large desk up for grabs. Spencer’s “desk” is just a table with no drawers, so I was thrilled to be able to get him a real desk with some storage space. And they even delivered it! I will be so sorry to see them go, though.

    And, for the icing on the cake, so to speak, Lina made lemon meringue pie for dessert without being asked or begged or coerced in any way.  Even without the crust, it was yummy!

Comments (1)

  • What a fun day!!  Funny you should mention the “cheater” cinamon rolls — I just saw a PW post about orange monkey bread made with pillsbury dough and whimsically picked some packages up while shopping.  Easy and tasty for the family. :)   The lemon meringue pie must be heavenly – one of my favorites!! :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories