May 18, 2013

  • Multiple Allergy Recipe!

    Yesterday I’m pretty sure something happened, but sleep seems to erase my short-term memory these days. One thing I did was go to get gluten-free ingredients to make a gluten-free flour blend. I LOVE my normal gluten-free flour blend, but I can’t use it this time because we are expecting guests who can’t have gluten, dairy, corn, or soy. So, this is the new blend I am trying:

    Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Corn Free, Soy Free Flour Mix

    8 parts white rice flour

    5 parts brown rice flour

    5 parts garbanzo bean flour

    4 parts tapioca starch

    3 parts sorghum flour

    3 parts amaranth flour

    2 parts potato starch

    ½ part xanthan gum

     

    Once I had my flour blend, I made a new version of my GF bread recipe:

     

    Gluten-Free, Corn-Free, Dairy-Free Bread

    3 cups gluten-free flour blend (with xanthan gum included)

    2 teaspoons kosher salt

    1 Tablespoon active dry yeast

    ¼ teaspoon cream of tartar

    2 Tablespoons sugar

    1 ½ cups warm water (not too hot)

    ¼ cup vegetable oil (not corn oil, obviously)

    1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

    1 large egg

     

    Combine dry ingredients in bowl of mixer. (A stand mixer works best for this.) Add the rest of the ingredients one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Then beat the batter well for at least 5 or 6 minutes. The mixture should be pretty stiff and sticky, but not hard. If it seems too stiff, add more water a tablespoon at a time and beat some more.

    Grease or spray a loaf pan no larger than 9×5 inches. Scrape the dough into the pan. I spray the top and then press it down into the pan with a plastic bag to make sure it fills the corners.

    Cover and place in a warm place for at least 30 minutes while you preheat the oven to 375°. It may take up to an hour for the dough to rise so that it is at least half an inch taller than the pan.

    Bake for 45-60 minutes. The outside will be brown and crusty. Cool in the pan for 10 minutes before turning out on a rack to finish cooling. You’re not supposed to slice it till it’s cool, but we sometimes just cut off a couple of slices and eat them hot with butter! Makes good toast.

    I have to admit, I still enjoy my “normal” GF bread recipe more–but this is pretty good considering everything I had to leave out.

    In the afternoon we had a visit (see–I knew something happened!) from Mary’s friend Sarah and also from Becca, another friend who was visiting from Colorado. I’m so glad they were able to come over for a few hours during Becca’s brief visit. I met Becca back in 2008, the first time I took the kids to Colorado for their annual “moot,” and since then we have been in touch by Facebook. We had a nice chat over supper before they had to move on to visit another friend.

    We watched a movie last night, which was kind of irresponsible of me, but on the other hand I have been fighting a cold all week so I doubt I would have been very productive anyway.

     

     

Comments (2)

  • There are lots of different seeds available to eat. I sort of like lentils because they are flat and cook pretty fast.

    I wouldn’t know how to make potato starch but I would guess instant mash potatoes would come close as a substitute.

    Amaranth and chia are two seeds from America, you could also benefit from flax too.

  • Thanks for posting your recipes!!  :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *