April 21, 2013

  • Sunny and Faire

    I couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful day today. What I could have asked for is more sleep! I was up till 2:30 last night sewing, and then this morning I slept in till 8:00 before getting up to finish Lucy’s outfit before we left for the Faire. She wanted to be a pirate so I made her a five-tiered red skirt and a black peasant blouse with triple-puffed sleeves. We already had a red sash for her to wear around her waist.

    I have to admit, I was sick to my stomach from lack of sleep when I first got up, but eventually I started to feel better (especially after a big mug of tea). We left kind of late for the Faire, due to the fact that Lina and I had to finish our sewing, so we went ahead and ate our lunch in the shade in the parking lot before heading into the Faire.

    I had my two oldest and two youngest kids with me today–Lina, Flynn, Lucy and Jasper. Since this was the only day for Flynn and Jasper to come, we had to make sure they saw the shows and spent some time hanging out at the forge. The weather couldn’t have been more perfect–sunny, breezy and cool. I was able to wear my silk chemise and velveteen surcoat–my nicest garb but I hardly ever get to wear it because it is usually too hot.

    Lina was resplendent in the new outfit that she worked so hard on for the last few days. I wish I could show you a picture! If you know me on Facebook there should be photos going up there soon. She really worked hard to get that garb done, even after sewing on the sleeves backwards, which basically turned her dress into a fancy-looking straightjacket. But she stuck with it and got them “unsewed” and then put back the right way and it was beautiful.

    I enjoy being at the Faire with my kids so much. Flynn greatly increases my enjoyment of any show because he is such an enthusiastic audience member. Performers love him because he gives them constant feedback.

    We also enjoyed the joust as always. There was a new knight today, a rather portly knight dressed in bright red armor, whom Flynn insisted on referring to as “Bob the Tomato.”  “Bob” was unhorsed during the afternoon joust but fortunately did not seem to be injured.

    After the Faire, we drove a few miles to visit Lina’s friend Rae and see her new house. It was so good to see her again. She and her husband have bought a lovely little house and have done such a great job setting it up.

    Eventually, we had to say goodbye and head home. We did stop to get some supper because we were starved! The best part (for me) of coming home (after I got out of my garb with the really annoying sleeves) was hearing Lina and Flynn and Lucy tell their dad all about the Faire and everything that happened.

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories