April 1, 2013

  • Someone Has a Birthday

    Someone Else Gets Breakfast in Bed

    Today is Flynn’s birthday. Yes, twenty-four years ago today, on a Saturday morning, I gave birth to my first son and second child just a couple hundred feet from here in a house that no longer exists. Of course, I wish I could have made Flynn breakfast in bed this morning, but I couldn’t because he was all the way over in Dallas oversleeping by two hours.

    What I could do was to make breakfast in bed for Mary, whose birthday is later this month when she will be in Nashville. This year’s breakfast menu, I’ve discovered, takes a full hour to make. Stuffed gluten-free crepes, bacon, egg, orange juice, tea or coffee, and Greek yogurt topped with granola. Mary seemed more than a little bewildered when Jasper and I walked into the room singing, but I think she enjoyed her breakfast! As a matter of fact, the whole breakfast in bed tradition started with Mary 16 years ago on her fifth birthday. We had no money for fancy gifts and I wanted so badly to make her birthday special. I remembered the boarding school tradition of making breakfast in bed for your roommate on her birthday, and I thought Mary would get a big kick out of having breakfast in bed. Instantly, a family tradition was born!

    Yesterday, of course, was Easter and it ended up being a pretty good day, starting with the heavy rainstorm that hit in the early morning. We went to church and then came home and ate lunch which included colorful dyed eggs, tea, and hot cross buns. Then we called Lina. It is so incredible to think that next week she is coming home!

    AJ and his cousin Jonnie were here for the big meal at suppertime, as was a friend of Spencer and Lucy’s. We don’t often have 11 people around the table anymore! I had been so frustrated trying to think of what to serve for dessert on Easter. I am so very tired of making two versions of everything. I wanted to make something that was naturally gluten free. I had asked my friends in Australia to send me photos and recipes, and my friend Joy sent her recipe for pavlova–something I had not made for many years. It struck me that this was the perfect thing to serve for Easter as it contains no flour. It was both beautiful and delicious!

    The boys all went off for a Nerf gun war after supper. I think they had a good time. I was busy researching for geography all evening.

    Most of the day today was taken up with schoolwork and with teaching my English class. This is an insanely busy week and I am wondering how I’m going to get it all done.

    This evening Mary and I tried to go and look at fabric but alas–both fabric stores were closed. What this means, in practical terms, is that I will have three weeks in May in which to design and sew a wedding dress. No pressure, right?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories