March 29, 2013

  • Good Friday

    Somehow, I had this idea that Good Friday was going to be a nice relaxing vacation day. Then I remembered that now I have to make two kinds of hot cross buns–regular and gluten free. Then I remembered that we were going to have a birthday dinner for Flynn tonight, which meant I needed to make a cake. Then I remembered that we always dye eggs on Good Friday and that Spencer’s friend Tiffany was coming over for that. Then I remembered that we were having pizza for supper, which meant that I had to make regular and gluten free pizza dough, which made me remember that I did not have enough gluten free flour left, which made me realize that I needed to go to the health food store.

    Suddenly I realized that I was going to be on my feet in the kitchen all day! I think I washed out my mixer bowl six times by supper time! I really need to make gluten free bread too, but honestly I just don’t want to do it tonight. It can wait until tomorrow.

    Walter had to work this morning, so as soon as he got back (and the van was still running!) I took off for the health food store and the grocery store. I came home in time to start 3 dozen eggs boiling, punch down the hot cross bun dough, and start forming it into balls. (Thank goodness the GF ones were already done.) Then while the buns were rising again I had time to bake the cake.

    Tiffany came and the kids all worked on dyeing eggs. We couldn’t find a single crayon in this house, can you believe it? So we had to use birthday candles instead. They worked fine.

    Flynn was so late arriving that we started our Good Friday tea without him. The GF hot cross buns were good, but I gotta say, not as good as the “real” kind. Mary helped me with the pizzas and we had a fun family dinner together, topped off with Red Velvet cake and ice cream.

    Then, sadly, Flynn, Mary, and Mercy took off for Dallas, where they will spend the night at Flynn’s apartment before heading to Six Flags for the day tomorrow. I am very tired and dreading my trip to Walmart in the morning.

Comments (1)

  • Wish I could have been there!  I made some hot crossed buns myself last night and may have eaten a scandalous number of them.  Plus, swiping the icing off the pan made me feel like a little kid again!  Counting down the days till I get home!  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories