May 7, 2013

  • Baby Steps

    Guess what I did today? Guess. I finally cut out the mockup for Mary’s dress, and after I finish writing this entry and drinking my tea, I’ll be up late sewing. It took me most of the day, not just because I had other stuff to do, but also because I ran out of my good pins and the other pins I have are such losers. They are too blunt to pierce the fabric I’m using, and after bending pin after pin I got a little frustrated. I was desperate enough to get online and pay the big bucks to order the only pins I’ve ever found that I actually like. No way am I using the blunt ones once I start working with satin and chiffon!

    The biggest excitement of the day was when the DHL truck stopped in front of our house because I knew it was delivering my mother of the bride dress and Lina’s bridesmaid dress. I was pleasantly surprised by my dress. I feel quite certain that I couldn’t have found anything I liked near as well if I had gone shopping here in town–and the cost would have been higher also.

    This evening was our last Literary Society dinner of the school year. We were discussing Mark Twain’s Life on the Mississippi, so we met at a “Southern” restaurant. Two of my students weren’t able to come, and I missed them, but we still had an enjoyable dinner.

    After our dinner, Lucy came with me to run and errand and then I left her to amuse herself while I went to a 4-H meeting at another restaurant. My friend Tammie, who has been our 4-H leader, is stepping down, so we are trying to figure out how to keep our club going. I would really like to be more involved in 4-H next year, especially since I won’t be teaching co-op classes again and Jasper really wants to join too.

    I came home to find Walter showing his Germany slides to Lina. He’s still at it . . . 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *